Bookmark and Share
Written By Ink Free News / Sports on Tuesday, May 26, 2020

NorthWood’s Alex Jesse was voted an Academic All-State selection by the Indiana High School Tennis Coaches Association. InkFreeNews file photos by Mike Deak

By Mike Deak

INDIANAPOLIS – Despite the lack of a spring athletic season at the high school level, the state associations are still honoring the work the athletes put into their games in the classroom.

The Indiana High School Tennis Coaches Association (IHSTeCA) and the Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association (ICGSA) posted a pair of Academic All-State award lists. The ICGSA will release girls tennis and girls track lists in the coming days, as should the associations for baseball, boys and girls track and boys golf.


The tennis association announced 97 athletes to its Academic All-State list. To make the cut, athletes needed to be a senior, carry a minimum of a 3.8 GPA (or equivalent) and score at least a 1280 SAT or 27 ACT. The player must also have been projected to be a varsity player for their respective high school team.

Among the area selections were a pair of Warsaw players in Jaya Panicker and Charlotte Grandon as well as NorthWood’s Alex Jesse. Other area selections include Sophia Craig of Goshen, Allysa Haupert of Northfield, Cassidy Overholt of Northridge, Aden Moore of Penn, Alexa Orozco and Fernanda Cortes of Plymouth, and Katheryn Borders and Kayla Graham of South Bend St. Joe.


NorthWood’s Gracie Clark was chosen as Honorable Mention Academic All-State by the Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association

The girls sports association notated 211 total selections for softball, both in All-State (75) and Honorable Mention (136) lists. The ICGSA requires seniors to carry a 3.5 GPA (or equivalent) and score at least a 1110 SAT or 24 ACT. The player must also have been projected to be a varsity player with at least 50 percent opportunity to play in softball games.

Among the area selections for Academic All-State First Team were a trio from NorthWood in Gracie Clark, MacKenzie Grueser and Tiana Yoder, Tippecanoe Valley’s Kirstyn Yoder and Wawasee’s Kasey Gunkel. Honorable Mention picks include Madison Miller and Grace Anglemyer of NorthWood as well as Shelby Baker of Tippecanoe Valley.

Joining on the First Team list include McKenna Myers of Bremen, Jocelyn Winebrenner of Central Noble, Lauren Moon of Columbia City, Mackenzie Cox and Jade Michael of DeKalb, Morgan Kast of Elkhart Memorial, Bailey Johnson of South Bend Riley, Amaani Lee of South Bend Washington and Annabelle Faith of South Central Union Mills.

Honorable Mention All-State picks from the area include Lauren Liston, Felicity Clawson and Brayden Lickey of Columbia City, Natalie Hughes of DeKalb, Shelby Weidner of Elkhart Memorial, Sarah Shank of Fairfield, Anna Graber of Mishawaka Marian, Mikaela Schramski of Penn, Brooke Duddleson of South Bend St. Joe, Zoe Williams of Westview and Kelsey Crawford of Winamac.

Posted In: Girl's Sports > Softball