Bookmark and Share
Written By Ink Free News / Sports on Sunday, January 26, 2020

Tippecanoe Valley’s Elaina Dishon stands as diving champion at Saturday’s Three Rivers Conference Swim Championships. (Photo courtesy the Tippecanoe Valley Athletics Twitter)


Tippecanoe Valley had three champions at Saturday’s Three Rivers Conference Swim Championships held at Maconaquah.

Valley diver Elaina Dishon had to outdo just one, but did so, to win the blue ribbon with a 294.05 11-dive series.

Mason Stephen had a big day, winning two titles. In the 50 free, he shared the moment with Maconaquah’s Nolyn Tubb as both touched the wall at 22.93. Taking matters into his own hands in the breaststroke, Stephen swam a meet record 1:05.58 to take honors, beating the old record by seven-hundredths.

Brandon Hoffman added a pair of top-threes, going 1:02.04 for second in the backstroke and 53.62 for third in the 100 free. Karl Parker added a third in the individual medley at 2:19.06 and fifth in the butterfly.

Valley’s medley relay was second, 200 free relay was third, and 400 free relay was fourth. The Valley boys were fourth in the team standings with 180.5 points, well behind Maconaquah’s championship 377.5 points, its fifth consecutive title.

Shayleigh Honeycutt was third in the breaststroke on the girls side, swimming a 1:20.87, and was fourth in the IM at 2:37.48. Olivia Livengood added a fourth in the butterfly at 1:10.83 and fifth in the 200 free.

Valley’s 400 free relay was third and 200 free relay was fourth. The Valley girls were third with 183 points, trailing the four-time champion Maconaquah team’s 373 points.


Warsaw wrapped up its regular season Saturday in a road trip to LaPorte.

The Warsaw girls used a big finish to scoot past LaPorte, 91-89, while the Tiger boys had no trouble with the Slicers, 136-40.

A Mariana Malagon win in the backstroke (1:17.20) along with a third from Rachel Doyle got Warsaw it’s first event win, then the Tigers took the top three spots in the breaststroke, led by Macelyn Marcuccilli (1:19.51) and followed by Melissa Deming and Sarah Morgan. Warsaw finished off the rally with a win in the 400 free relay, the team of Malagon, Doyle, Scholl and Gracie Willig posting a 4:12.44 win.

The Warsaw boys had four individuals take two events. Michael Ray won the 100 free (46.00) and 200 free (2:00.04), Grant Knight got the 50 free (23.22) and breaststroke (1:02.20), Nate Taylor claimed the individual medley (2:19.55) and butterfly (59.33) and Zach LaLonde won the 500 free (5:43.82) and backstroke (1:00.47). Warsaw added relays wins in the medley (1:46.30), 200 free (2:09.27) and 400 free (4:27.09) for good measure.

The Warsaw boys are in action next weekend at the Northern Lakes Conference Championships at Concord while the girls will prep for the Elkhart Sectional in two weeks.

Posted In: TSN Store > All Sports