Bookmark and Share
Written By Ink Free News / Sports on Tuesday, October 29, 2019

Warsaw’s Gwyn Bellamy was chosen among a record number of volleyball players for IHSVCA Academic All-State. (Photos by Mike Deak)

INDIANAPOLIS – As the fall sports state tournaments wind down, accolades from the sports associations continue to honor those working hard both on the field and in the classroom.


NorthWood’s Gracie Clark was named Academic All-State.

The Indiana High School Volleyball Coaches Association recognized a record 428 student athletes with its Academic All-State awards. To be recognized for the honor, the volleyball player must be a senior on the varsity roster, carry at least a 3.5 GPA or equivalent, and have a 1200 SAT or 24 ACT test score.

Locally, the NorthWood trio of Gracie Clark, Maddy Payne and Kate Rulli as well as the Warsaw duo of Gwyn Bellamy and Katie Schmidt were chosen.

Additionally, area athletes selected included Churubusco’s Madison Gaff, Culver Academy’s Anne McKenney, Amina Shafeek-Horton, Lauren Cesarski, Juliana Jorgensen, Cheyenne Gubert and Grace Frank, Culver’s Alexandra Temme and Cerenna Eakright, Elkhart Memorial’s Olivia Gonsoski, John Glenn’s Taylor Cuskaden, Jorjia Ayers, Ariel Tysver and Julianne Wilk, Knox’s Paige Byer, Nicholle Vandy, Joie Grenner and Jennifer Conner, LaVille’s Katelynn Beam, Manchester’s Lydia Greer and Sarah Pegg, Penn’s Madeline Pooler, Kylee Hixenbaugh, Bella Phillips and Allison Hickey, Peru’s Courtlynn Crowe and Samantha Zak, Pioneer’s Macee Weisenburger, Plymouth’s Alaina Clady, Avery Christy and Erin Renneker, Rochester’s Whitley Barkman and Alexis Coleman, South Bend Adams’ Sydney Lewandowski and Aubrey Richardson, West Noble’s Kristina Teel and Whitko’s Katherine Ousley and Claire Keirn.


The Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association also released its Academic All-State list. Criteria for inclusion to the lists is the senior must have a 3.5 GPA (or equivalent), an 1110 SAT/24 ACT and have played in 50 percent of the team’s games this season.

Named All-State were Elkhart Christian’s Peyton Badskey, Goshen’s Jocelyn Valderrama, John Glenn’s Hailey Rough, Mishawaka Marian’s Paulina Carles and South Bend St. Joe’s Elizabeth O’Brien.

Honorable Mention All-State were Bethany Christian’s Sarah Hochstetler, Elkhart Christian’s Abbie Suiter, Wabash’s Maya Benysh and South Bend St. Joe’s Grace Miller, Madeline Varga, Madison Veldman, Caroline Edmonds, Colleen Harley, Grace Joines and Madeline Zeller.


Bremen’s Mark Bahr was named Honorable Mention All-State as well as All-District by the IHSTECA.

The Indiana High School Tennis Coaches Association released its All-State teams following the completion of the IHSAA State Finals last weekend.

Among the First Team All-State singles choices were Daniel Pries of South Bend St. Joe and Joel Mast of West Noble. Second Team All-State singles included Niko Warnholtz of Culver Academy, Will Thurin of Penn and Kurtis Davis of Westview.

Honorable Mention All-State singles included NorthWood’s Wes Troyer and Ben Vincent, Bremen’s Carson Miller and Mark Bahr, Ryan Harmelink of Goshen, Cole Borden of Maconaquah, Nick Boyd of New Prairie, Gabe Rodino of Northridge, Aidan Sucharetza of Penn, Ryan Smith of Peru, Grant Houin of Plymouth, Kyle Fernandez of St. Joe and Rob Ford of Wabash.

Honorable Mention All-State doubles included Landon Holland and Jack Wysong of NorthWood, Shay Kyser and Mason Porter of Bremen, Chris Dicken and Greyson Spohn of Peru, Drew Harrell and Adam Hunter of Plymouth and Max Blumentritt and Riley Mandell of St. Joe.

All-District Teams for District 1 include Thurin, Fernandez, Sucharetza and Boyd as well as Blumentritt and Mandell. Steve Bender of St. Joe was tabbed as the District 1 Coach of the Year.

All-District Teams for District 2 include Mast, Davis, Troyer, Vincent, Rodino and Harmelink as well as Holland and Wysong. Tyler Miller of Westview was tabbed as the District 2 Coach of the Year.

All-District Teams for District 3 include Warnholtz, Borden, Smith, Bahr, Miller and Houin as well as Dicken and Spohn, Harrell and Hunter and Kyser and Porter. Kevin Hickman of Bremen was tabbed as the District 3 Coach of the Year.

Posted In: TSN Store > All Sports