Bookmark and Share
Written By Ink Free News / Sports on Thursday, October 8, 2020

Warsaw’s Sam Lechlitner, left, and Harrison Phipps were both named All-Northern Lakes Conference for the 2020 cross country season. InkFreeNews file photo by Mike Deak

Cross country is in the middle of its state tournament season, and the awards are starting to filter in. First up are the conference awards locally for the Northern Lakes Conference, Hoosier North Athletic Conference and Three Rivers Conference.

Northern Lakes Conference

Warsaw ran through the girls circuit with a 14-0 round robin record, then won the championship meet by nine points over Northridge to sweep the conference season.

Warsaw had Wini Barnett, Adree Beckham, Regan Brouwer and Ava Knight named All-NLC and the trio of Erika Bugg, Elizabeth Vander Bie and Whitney Shepherd tabbed as Honorable Mention All-NLC. Warsaw head coach Jason Fleming was named the Coach of the Year.

Northridge’s Haylee Hile repeated as conference champion, and was joined on the All-NLC list by teammates Tame Bayliss and Clare Ritchie. Also on the All-NLC list were Concord’s Stephanie Claudio, Goshen’s Sophia Yordy, Mishawaka’s Sarah Beshara, NorthWood’s Kaitlin Burden and Plymouth’s Sophie Wray.

Honorable Mention All-NLC went to Mishawaka’s Jada Rogers and Rachel Williams and Northridge’s Emma Long.

Goshen duplicated the undefeated feat on the boys side, running 14-0 and tournament champion, going one-two-three in the championship race to boot. Champion Drew Hogan led a quartet of RedHawks on the All-NLC list, joined by Tommy Claxton, Cole Johnston and Ryan Diaz. Warsaw was runner-up, landing Jacob Kissling, Sam Lechlitner and Harrison Phipps as All-NLC. Also making the list were Concord’s Anthony Roberts, Mishawaka’s Ryan Hoopingarner, Plymouth’s Nolan Bales and Northridge’s Jaxon Miller and Bryce McMann.

Honorable Mention All-NLC went to Warsaw’s Luke Nier and Tanner Stiver, Northridge’s Jon Spicher, NorthWood’s Brady Hunsberger and Wawasee’s Karlson Hand.

Three Rivers Conference

The top 12 runners for each championship run are automatically named All-TRC.

Earning All-TRC for the girls was a quartet from champion Rochester, led by individual champion Madilyn Calloway, plus teammates Araceli Ochoa, Zoe Seward and McKendyll Bradley. Maconaquah had a trio named in Abby Jordan, Karli Miller and Lauren Driscoll, as were Manchester’s Josie Briner and Anna Markham, Tippecanoe Valley’s Chesnee Miller, Northfield’s Mara Zolman and North Miami’s Kaylee Lane.

Earning All-TRC for the boys was a quartet from champion Wabash, represented by Zack Reed, Jarrett Wilson, Dave Ford and Troy Guenin-Hodson. Individual champion Braden Sweet represented Southwood, and was joined by Rochester’s Peyton Hiatt, Dylan Steininger and Chris Rohr, Manchester’s Carter Bedke, Maconaquah’s Isaiah Wittenberg, Tippecanoe Valley’s Matthew Howes and Northfield’s Andrew Burns.

Hoosier North Athletic Conference

The top 10 runners for each championship run are automatically named All-HNAC, the next five as Honorable Mention and the winner of each race the league MVP.

Taking honors as MVP for the girls was Winamac’s Katie Collins, who joins teammates Maggie Smith, Kelsey Wegner and Alexis Sheets as All-HNAC. Emily Rausch, Bethany Poor and Kingsley Kroft were all Honorable Mention for the Warriors, which ran away with the team championship.

Joining the All-HNAC selections were Pioneer’s Violet Montgomery and Kylie Farris, Triton’s Jocelynn Faulkner and Annie Hill, North Judson’s Gabby Boyd and Caston’s Delaney Strasser.

Honorable Mentions went to North Judson’s Jocilynn Radtke and LaVille’s Faith Rock.

Taking honors as MVP for the boys was Winamac’s Kolbey Wegner. Team champion Caston had a trio of All-HNAC honorees in Austin Dague, Edison Byrum and Micah Colvin. Pioneer also had a trio in Jackson Baker, Carson Meyer and Thomas Ehler. Knox’s Luca Gianuzzi and Owen Binkley and Triton’s Brandon Kitch also earned All-HNAC.

Honorable Mentions went to LaVille’s Sam Lillie, North Judson’s David Rossa, Caston’s Caleb Stinson, Winamac’s Cristian Cardenas and Knox’s Jonah Berndt.

Posted In: TSN Store > All Sports