Bookmark and Share
Written By Ink Free News / Sports on Tuesday, October 22, 2019

NorthWood head coach Brad Duerksen, left, and Warsaw head coach Frank Courtois were named Co-Coaches of the Year for boys soccer in the Northern Lakes Conference. (Photos by Mike Deak)

GOSHEN – The Northern Lakes Conference announced Tuesday morning its choices for the All-NLC boys and girls soccer teams for the 2019 season.


Warsaw’s Blake Burns

A hotly contested season saw Northridge survive unbeaten with a 6-0-1 mark and 19 points, a half-game ahead of Warsaw’s 6-1 mark. Northridge tied Concord while beating the Raiders to decide the top of the table. NorthWood finished its fine season 5-2 and third, followed by Goshen (4-3), Concord (2-3-2), Memorial (1-4-2), Plymouth (1-5-1) and Wawasee (0-7).

Sharing Coach of the Year honors are NorthWood’s Brad Duerksen and Warsaw’s Frank Courtois.

Leading the way for the Raiders were Jacopo Verdolini, Brody Gust, Tanner Salle, Cam Chappell and Carter Stoltzfus as All-NLC. Cameron Graber, Drew Collins and Jamon Christner were chosen as Honorable Mention All-NLC.

Warsaw had Tedros Berelsman, Blake Burns, Jose Lara, Jorge Rico and Harrison Mevis named All-NLC and Dayne Koontz and Ethan Grill tabbed Honorable Mention All-NLC.

NorthWood saw Sebastian Guillen, Skyler Duerksen, Jerson Sanchez and Andre DeFreitas named All-NLC and Trent Edwards and Kayden Newcomer named Honorable Mention All-NLC.

Wawasee had Niles Hodges named All-NLC and Kenyon Cotton picked as Honorable Mention All-NLC.

Wrapping up All-NLC selections include Ariel DeLaPaz and Eric Reyes of Concord, Kevin Cruz, Chris Lozano and Cesar Valdez of Goshen, Mario Perez, Damian Vargas and Bryan Guerrero of Memorial, and Selvin Pagoada of Plymouth.

Honorable Mentions included Tyler Binkley of Concord, Jared Garcia of Memorial, Cruz Garcia of Goshen and Brian Licona of Plymouth.


Wawasee’s Courtney Cox

Northridge and Warsaw were again at the top of the girls table, and both shared seats after tying, 1-1, in their season-ending dual to each finish 6-0-1 overall. Plymouth earned a late win to claim third alone at 4-3, followed by Concord (3-3-1), Goshen and NorthWood both at 2-3-2, Memorial (1-5-1) and Wawasee (0-7).

The Tigers and Raiders each had five chosen as All-NLC, Warsaw with Abby Steffensmeier, Audrey Grimm, Corissa Koontz, Jordan Love and Tes Berelsman, Northridge with Hope Stacker, Leah Stacker, Betsy Wertman, Madison Wienert and Louren Kollat. Honorables for the Tigers were Zoe Bergan and Kiersten Parker, the Raiders had Nicole Guzman and Delaney Hoag.

Chris Malott of Northridge was tabbed by his peers as the Coach of the Year.

The Panthers had Emma Martz and Lizzie Hildebrant as All-NLC and Caroline Jenkins and Ari Topping as Honorable Mention All-NLC.

The Warriors had Courtney Cox as All-NLC and Allie Haberman as Honorable Mention All-NLC.

Wrapping up All-NLC selections include Aubrey Vervynckt, Claudia Marohn, Lindsay Janus and Amber Schrameyer of Plymouth, Kendal Swartout, Jada Swanson and Lauren Pollock of Concord, Maddie Swallow, Alessandra Lozano and Regan Mast of Goshen and Kelsey Knowlton of Memorial.

Honorable Mentions included Abigale Lee and Jenna Abberger of Plymouth, McKenna DeFreese of Concord, Jocelyn Valderrama of Goshen and Andrea Puga and Jahlea Douglas of Memorial.

Posted In: TSN Store > All Sports