Bookmark and Share
Written By StaceyPageOnline / Sports on Wednesday, October 31, 2018

NorthWood’s Caroline Jenkins and Morgan Stickley were both named Academic All-State soccer players among dozens of area recipients. (File photo by Mike Deak)

INDIANAPOLIS – It’s noted on the front page of the Academic All-State listings page. This list is massive, and the Indiana Soccer Coaches Association likes it that way.

Well over 500 individuals in both boys and girls soccer were named to the state showcase list, highlighting the work by the soccer players in the classroom. The criteria to make the All-State list includes juniors and seniors that are varsity rostered players which maintain at least a 3.7 GPA.

From direct local teams, Warsaw and NorthWood both had multiple players on both its girls and boys teams named to the lists.

Warsaw had nine boys in Alex Brown, Blake Burns, Ryan Harris, Dominic Smith, Agustin Hidalgo, Jose Lara, Jorge Rico-Giron, Isaiah VanPuffelen and Aden Wade named Academic All-State while the girls side had Brenna Buhrt, Anna Grill, Dayle Harvey, Olivia Herman, Kaylee Patton, Abby Steffensmeier and Delaney Taylor.

NorthWood had boys members Lukas Aukerman, Mauricio Lomeli, Luke Lingle, Kyle Luster and Landon Parker while the girls had Makenzie Bergman, Avery Bontrager, Sarah Eberle, Kaicee Egolf, Caroline Jenkins, Kali Parisi and Morgan Stickley.

The Northern Lakes Conference was well represented, with Northridge netting 20 total, Elkhart Memorial with seven, Plymouth with five and Concord with two.

The Raiders had Evan Beasley, Micah Cross, Cameron Graber, Ben Miller, Jacob Miller, Tanner Sallee, Isaac Zmuda, Sophie Carrison, Lexi Chappell, Meg Ciokajlo, Shelby Herschop, Izzy Love, Kailee Miller, Sage Schnell, Maddie Sorg, Hope Stacker, Leah Stacker, Ariana Stoltzfus, Betsy Wertman and Ella Yoder.

The Chargers had Felipe Zendejas, Jahlea Douglas, Marlene Lozano-Trinidad, Reyna Minix, Veronica Ocampo, Ma’Elena Perez-Garcia and Andrea Puga.

The Rockies had Soren Houin, Nate Hutsell, Cece Robinson, Sydnee Smith and Paige Young.

The Minutemen had Haley Miller and Nicholette Vahala.

Other boys from the area included Alex Cartwright and Nick Yoder of Bethany Christian; Maksis Brimanis, Henry Chandler, Ethan Elsaden, Alex Farmer, Ahmed Kadous, Luis Malanga, Joel Thompkins and Drew Wynn of Culver Academy; Edwin Avilez, Nate Byrd, Enrique Cazares, Jared Miller and Jack Shupert of Elkhart Central; Jared Alley, Mason Beall, Jacob Dillingham and Chas Nelson of Rochester; and Ian Cook, Drew Diamente, Aaron Fix, Garett Walker and Colin Wood of Columbia City.

Other girls from the area included Caroline Cartmel and Meg Heinisch of Bethany Christian; Kaitlyn Cullers, Ashley Jeffirs and Wendy Nova of Bremen; Elizabeth Brummell, Hannah Fody, Ava Hascall, Heather MacNab, Madeline Magee, Margaux McBride, Sophie Michi, Erin Neher, Eva Sech and Jean Tankard of Culver Academy; Kortney Buckley, Yesenia Cervantes, Leah Duehmig, Elizabeth Koehne, Ashley Moreno, Christy Pham and Kelsey Stone of Elkhart Central.

Posted In: TSN Store > All Sports