Bookmark and Share
Written By Ink Free News / Sports on Tuesday, November 26, 2019

Warsaw’s Tedros Berelsman was chosen as First Team All-State in boys soccer by the Indiana Soccer Coaches Association. (File photo by Mike Deak)

INDIANAPOLIS – Tedros Berelsman has been one of the top soccer defenders in the state of Indiana his entire high school career. Nothing changed his senior year other than the placement of his award, as Berelsman was named First Team All-State by the Indiana Soccer Coaches Association.

Berelsman was one of three area players named First Team All-State, joined by Cam Chappell of Northridge and Gian Marco Frassineti of St. Joe. Zionsville had Chris Freeman earn Player of the Year and coach Rob Jordan named Coach of the Year by his peers.

Second Team All-State included Marian’s Michael Baughman and Argos’ Owen Nifong. Third Team All-State included Elkhart Central’s Bryan Ramirez, Elkhart Memorial’s Damian Vargas and Bethany Christian’s Allan Torres.

Honorable Mentions include Lakeland Christian Academy’s Parker Stewart, NorthWood’s Andre DeFreitas, St. Joe’s Kyle Tupper and Culver Academy’s Luis Malanga.

On the girl’s side, Warsaw’s Abby Steffensmeier concluded her stellar career with a Third Team All-State honor. Steffensmeier leaves the Warsaw program as the team’s all-time leading goal scorer among a host of statistical superiority.

Penn’s Kelsi Carrico was named Player of the Year by the ISCA, and Mike Brady of Noblesville was tabbed as Coach of the Year. Carrico was the lone area player named First Team All-State.

Second Team All-State included St. Joe’s Natalie Moore and Georgia Place, Penn’s Kayla Leady, Culver Academy’s Heather MacNab and Northridge’s Hope Stacker. Steffensmeier was the only area player on the Third Team.

Honorable Mentions include Penn’s Sydney Egendoerfer, Northridge’s Madison Wienart, St. Joe’s Caroline Edmonds, Marian’s Grace Weaver and South Bend Adams’ Annalis Barkowski.

Posted In: TSN Store > All Sports