Bookmark and Share
Written By StaceyPageOnline / Sports on Thursday, March 22, 2018

INDIANAPOLIS – A whole bunch of boys basketball players got a pat on the back Thursday from the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association as the organization issued its All-State honors.

Locally, a handful of players were named to Honorable Mention All-State lists. Seniors Caleb Lung of NorthWood and River West of Whitko were tabbed, as were junior Honorable Mentions Kaden Gongwer of NorthWood and Nolan Groninger of Warsaw.

The IBCA, which recognizes the state in both Large School and Small School formats, also issued its Supreme 15 for the senior and junior classes. In all, over 210 players from across the state were recognized.

For the area honorees, Damezi Anderson of South Bend Riley was part of the Senior Supreme 15 and Culver Academy’s Trey Galloway was tabbed for the Junior Supreme 15. Shamar Dillard of South Bend Riley was named Large School All-State and both Carson Blair and Peyton Trexler of Southwood were named Small School All-State for the senior class. Senior Honorables for the area included Kooper Broeker of Knox, Logan Kruse of DeKalb, Cory McKinney of South Bend Washington, Weston Sage of Elkhart Christian and Trey Waddups of Pioneer.

For the juniors, Large School All-State went to Ali Ali of East Noble, Noah Applegate of Penn, Ethan Brittain-Watts and Deontae Craig of Culver Academy, and Small School All- State went to Elijah Hales of Westview and Dallas Holmes of Southwood. Junior Honorables went to Trenton Daughtry of Wabash, Trey Gallope of Elkhart Memorial, Hayden Jones of East Noble, Calvin Larkin of Winamac, Drew Lutz of Penn, Zac Mago of John Glenn, Bryant Robinson of Goshen and Charlie Yoder of Westview.

Posted In: Boy's Sports > Basketball