Bookmark and Share
Written By Ink Free News / Sports on Wednesday, March 24, 2021

NorthWood’s Cade Brenner was named an IBCA Underclass All-State honoree. InkFreeNews file photo by Mike Deak

By Mike Deak

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Basketball Coaches Association released on Tuesday its selections for girls basketball All-State as well as its designations for Supreme 15 and its Honorable Mentions.

Fifteen seniors and 15 underclass girls basketball players have earned IBCA/Franciscan Health “Supreme 15” All-State honors for 2020-21. The IBCA also named Large School All-State teams (15 seniors, 15 underclass) and Small School All-State teams (15 seniors, 15 underclass).

The “Supreme 15” is the top honor awarded, and players were voted to that group without regard to school size. The Large School and Small School all-state teams are secondary accolades — the Large School group including players from Class 3-A and Class 4-A schools and the Small School group including players from Class A and Class 2-A schools. Players who make the Supreme 15 are not considered for Large School or Small School honors.

Locally, a handful of area ballers made the cut in the various lists. Central Noble junior Connor Essegian was named to the Underclass Supreme 15, NorthWood sophomore Cade Brenner earned Underclass All-State, Brenner’s teammate, and Honorable Mentions included NorthWood’s Ian Raasch, Triton’s Ashton Oviedo and Tyson Yates, and Warsaw’s Jaxson Gould.

2021 IBCA/Franciscan Health Senior All-State
Supreme 15
Shamar Avance, Lawrence North
Brooks Barnhizer, Lafayette Jeff
Jalen Blackmon, Marion
Luke Brown, Blackford
Caleb Furst, Fort Wayne Blackhawk Christian
Luke Goode, Homestead
Curt Hopf, Barr-Reeve
Kooper Jacobi, Silver Creek
Trey Kaufman-Renn, Silver Creek
J.R. Konieczny, South Bend St. Joseph
Blake Sisley, Heritage Hills
Jayden Taylor, Perry Meridian
Pierce Thomas, Brownsburg
Brian Waddell, Carmel
Blake Wesley, South Bend Riley

Senior Large School All-State
Joey Bomba, Bloomington South
Vincent Brady, Cathedral
Blake Davison, Leo
Gus Etchison, Hamilton Heights
Langdon Hatton, North Harrison
Jake Heidbreder, Floyd Central
D.J. Hughes, Lawrence North
Christopher Mantis, Lowell
Quimari Peterson, Gary West
Darrell Reed, Hammond
Ian Scott, Plainfield
Isaiah Stafford, Indianapolis Attucks
Malik Stanley, Warren Central
Isaiah Swope, Castle
Harold Woods, Hammond

Senior Small School All-State
Andrew Bennett, Shenandoah
Zane Burke, Fort Wayne Blackhawk Christian
Connor Davis, Parke Heritage
Koron Davis, Bowman Academy
Trey Flatt, Covenant Christian (Indianapolis)
Brycen Graber, Barr-Reeve
Lincoln Hale, Linton-Stockton
Landen Jordan, Churubusco
Lane Lauderbaugh, South Decatur
Colson Montgomery, Southridge
Jackson Paul, Churubusco
Carson Rich, Southwood
Cody Samples, South Ripley
Payton Sparks, Winchester
Kolden Vanlandingham, Northeastern
Cole Wireman, Kouts

2021 IBCA/Franciscan Health Underclass All-State
Supreme 15
Tayshawn Comer, Cathedral
Tae Davis, Warren Central
Connor Essegian, Central Noble
Travis Grayson, Chesterton
C.J. Gunn, Lawrence North
Jalen Hooks, Indianapolis Attucks
Jalen Jackson, Carroll (Fort Wayne)
Will Lovings-Watts, Jeffersonville
Fletcher Loyer, Homestead
Branden Northern, Silver Creek
Billy Smith, Brebeuf Jesuit
Braden Smith, Westfield
Peter Suder, Carmel
Leland Walker, North Central
Jalen Washington, Gary West

Underclass Large School All-State
Demetrious Allen, Leo
Tucker Biven, New Albany
Cade Brenner, NorthWood
Markus Burton, Penn
Ryan Conwell, Pike
Jaxon Edwards, Cathedral
Jamie Hodges Jr., Michigan City
Armon Jarrard, Mt. Vernon (Fortville)
Brauntae Johnson, Fort Wayne North
Julian Norris, Evansville Bosse
Brandon Rayzer-Moore, Jeffersonville
Joe Reidy, Woodlan
Jeffrey Simmons, Fishers
Davyeon Turner, Indianapolis Tech
Cael Vanderbush, Plainfield

Underclass Small School All-State
Isaac Andrews, Wapahani
Peyton Bledsoe, Loogootee
Myles Colvin, Heritage Christian
Josiah Dunham, Evansville Christian
Gabe Gillespie, Andrean
Baylin Graf, Bloomfield
Brevin Hallatt, Blue River Valley
Brit Harris, Marquette Catholic
Aaron Humphrey, Tindley
Christian Johnson, Parke Heritage
Hunter Johnson, South Decatur
Hagen Knepp, Barr-Reeve
Jaylen Mullen, North Daviess
Tyler Myers, Evansville Day
Jackson Ullum, Monroe Central

Area Honorable Mentions (both classes, both classifications)
Carson Miller, Bremen; Connor Penrod, DeKalb; Brycen Hannah, John Glenn; Brayden Bontrager, Lakeland;  Max Carter, Manchester; Wes Hamby, Manchester; Trent Johnson, Mishawaka; Richards Brooks, Mishawaka Marian; Deaglan Sullivan, Mishawaka Marian; Braydon Flagg, New Prairie; Sam Smith, Northridge; Carter Stoltzfus, Northridge; Ian Raasch, NorthWood; Matt Ross, Peru; Quentez, Columbus, South Bend Adams; Lynn King, South Bend Adams; Brayden Sexton, South Bend Adams; Brendan Carr, South Central; Ashton Oviedo, Triton; Tyson Yates, Triton; Jaxson Gould, Warsaw; Austin Cripe, West Noble; Brett Sickafoose, Whitko

Posted In: Boy's Sports > Basketball