AVON, Ohio – The Crossroads League tabbed Indiana Wesleyan men’s basketball standout, Kyle Mangas, as its 2018-19 Male Student-Athlete of the Year on Wednesday, after the sophomore guard played to NAIA First-Team All-American honors for the second time in as many collegiate seasons.

Mangas averaged 23.6 points, 5.0 rebounds and 3.8 assists per game and shot it at a 56.5-percent clip from the field and a 42.5-percent rate from beyond the arc during the 2018-2019 season. Mangas finished with 801 points, trailing only his 818 from 2017-2018 for the highest single-season total in IWU history.

For his efforts, Mangas was named Crossroads League Player of the Year, NAIA First-Team All-American, NAIA All-Tournament Team and First-Team All-CL for the second time in as many years on the hardwood with the Wildcats.

“Kyle is such a great example of humility,” said IWU head men’s basketball coach Greg Tonagel. “He has accomplished so much already in his young career, yet he continues to make his success about others. He is the real deal when it comes to his faith and he is able to live that out authentically. He is a great representation for the Crossroads League.”

Mangas helped lead IWU to a 30-6 mark, the CL regular season and tourney championships and a trip to the NAIA National Tournament Quarterfinals in 2018-2019 and has sparked his squad to a 61-13 record, two CL Championships and one NAIA National Championship in his first two collegiate seasons.

The Crossroads League Male Student-Athlete of the Year award is nominated and voted on by the 10 Athletic Directors from the Crossroads League and announced each summer.

Crossroads League Female Student-Athlete of the Year Recipients
2018-2019 – Kyle Mangas, Indiana Wesleyan (basketball)
2017-2018 – Erik Escobedo, Bethel (track and field)
2016-2017 – Lane Mahurin, Indiana Wesleyan (basketball)
2015-2016 – Austin Fox, Saint Francis (basketball)
2014-2015 – Matt Schauss, Bethel (basketball)
2013-2014 – Riley Swanson, Mount Vernon Nazarene (baseball)
2012-2013 – Brady Klotz, Bethel (golf)
2011-2012 – Caleb Kennedy, Huntington (basketball)